By: Mark Polson, Birmingham DUI Lawyer
Birmingham AL DUI Attorney Explains Alabama DUI laws
A person who has never been arrested for criminal charges before can lose a lot of sleep over a 1st offense DUI case after bonding out of jail. Question after question enters their mind, due to unfamiliarity with DUI laws in Alabama.
On a 1st offense DUI arrest, will I go to jail? How much will I be fined for s first time DUI? Will I suffer a license suspension, on a 1st offense DUI? Should I have blown into the breath alcohol testing device? How do I know who to select the best DUI attorney Birmingham AL? What happens for your first DUI offense?
The information on AL DUI laws listed below deals with the minimum penalties for a 1st offense DUI Alabama misdemeanor. A defense attorney from our law office can explain how to negotiate complicated Alabama DUI laws on suspensions will help you understand the value of hiring the best Alabama DUI lawyer. In fact, you can hire the man who wrote the book on DWI in Alabama. Hopefully, this list of DUI penalties in Alabama and driver’s license suspension or revocation issues can answer most questions.
What Jail Time or AL DUI Fine For First DUI Offense Am I Facing?
If convicted of a DUI Alabama, you can serve up to 1 Year in Jail or pay a fine ranging from $600 (minimum mandatory) to $2,100 or both. The minimum fine for a 1st DUI conviction in Alabama is $600, if the fine is part of your court-ordered DUI penalties of an Alabama DUI.
Like many other states (Georgia, West Virginia, Wisconsin) refusing to take a breath alcohol test after arrest for DUI in AL brings more severe driver license penalties, under the implied consent laws in Alabama. However, Alabama DUI law mandates that if the offender has blown into the breathalyzer and has a breath alcohol result under 0.15 grams percent, interlock installation may be elected for 180 days.
A mandatory ignition interlock is required if:
There is a Refusal to provide a Breath Test, or
A conviction for an Alabama DUI with an alcohol breath test of .15 or higher, or
An accident with injury, or
A conviction for being DUI with a child in the car under 14.
In such cases, a mandatory ignition interlock of 24 months will be required. These additional DUI consequences have been added to Alabama DUI laws by the Alabama Legislature, as they target egregious DUI behavior, or risky drunk driving situations, in escalating and increasing Alabama DUI penalties.
Substance Abuse Evaluation and Treatment
One of the Legislature’s goals is to stop dangerous drivers, like a person convicted of DUI alcohol or DUI drugs, from being a future risk. All persons convicted of a first offense DUI in Alabama must undergo a substance abuse evaluation, and follow any recommended substance abuse treatment, as deemed necessary by the substance abuse counselor.
An Alabama DUI Conviction Creates Mandatory Probation
A convicted drunk driver must satisfy all sentencing conditions and pay all fines and surcharges that are ordered by the Judge. Probation is a mandatory part of the Alabama DUI sentence. This oversight by the probation departments assures compliance with Alabama DUI laws.
Since jail time could be for a full year, probation is a replacement for jail. The sentencing Judge has the discretion to put probation in place, rather than merely send the 1st offender to jail for the whole 12 months for a misdemeanor DUI in Alabama.
Various states (e.g., Georgia laws) have widely different DUI laws, that are substantially more punitive than the punishment handed down by a Judge in an Alabama DUI court case. But, some other states (e.g., Mississippi) may offer penalties of diversion that is substantially better that Alabama DUI penalties. The State of Alabama is pretty limited about allowing DUI expungement, too.
Additionally, in some states, like Nebraska, probation on a DUI first offense may not be required if the accused is willing to spend a week of jail time. However, in California, after two days of jail, the 1st offense DUI is followed by three years of supervised and administrative probation, on a first offense DUI in that state. So, the harshness of Alabama 1st offense DUI probation is somewhere in the middle.
Get Your FREE Lawyer Consultation Today
If you or someone you care about has been arrested for Alabama DUI, please contact a reputable, experienced DUI lawyer who knows DUI law Alabama at once to get fully informed about Alabama drunk driving laws. Call our qualified Alabama DUI defense lawyers for a FREE case consultation. Mark Polson has been offering Criminal Law Legal Services for 44 Years. The veteran criminal defense attorney has taught his son Whitney that the quality of legal services is the number one objective of the law firm.
When You Only Have One Chance to Win Your Alabama DUI
The courts in Alabama don’t allow “do-overs.” You get one chance to win your DUI in Alabama, so why not hire an experienced, reputable, expert Alabama DUI lawyer? The Birmingham DUI attorneys at Polson Law Firm have trained for criminal defense for their entire legal careers. This was critical to be able to accomplish great outcomes for their clients. This includes both in driving under the influence cases and other felony or misdemeanor crimes committed in any corner of the State of Alabama.
We are serious about helping you overcome this career challenge. An Alabama DUI attorney from Polson Law Firm will travel to your location, if necessary, after you have been in a serious auto accident. A DUI lawyer Birmingham AL will fight your Alabama DUI charges across the entire State of Alabama, as well as other misdemeanor or felony criminal offenses.
If you were arrested for an Alabama DUI, CALL our award-winning BIRMINGHAM DUI LAW FIRM now. At our DUI lawyer office, we respond 24 hours a day. 205-871-8838. You can also call our Birmingham DUI attorney office toll free at 1-844-7POLSON [1-844-776-5766].